This website is for sale, please contact us for more information


Chiapas is a football (soccer) club from Mexico.

Talk Chiapas

Are you a fan of Chiapas or want to know more about the club? Then you can discuss Chiapas with other fans on the messageboard here.

Chiapas News

Want to know more about Chiapas? We gather news from various medias about Chiapas and you find them in the news section

About Chiapas

The Club de Fútbol Jaguares de Chiapas, is a Mexican Association football club now based in Tuxtla Gutiérrez, in the state of Chiapas. They currently play in Primera División de México . They were bought, moved in 2002, and now play their home matches in the Estadio Victor Manuel Reyna, which was originally built in 1982 for local club teams with a capacity of 6,000, but which was enlarged in 2002 to a capacity of 31,100. On 1 November they announced that the names on the back of their shirts will be their Twitter online names, not their real names.


The club in its Chiapas reincarnation was "founded" on 27 June 2002. They played their first game on 3 August against Tigres de la UANL, losing 3–1, with Lucio Filomeno scoring the club's first ever goal. The clubs first win came on 25 August, a 1–0 win over San Luis F.C.. They finished the Apertura 2002, with a record of three wins, seven draws, and nine defeats. In the Clausura 2005 they finished with six wins, four draws, and seven defeats, and the head coach José Luis Trejo was sacked in the middle of the season. The club then named Antonio Mohamed as manager, but poor results meant another change with Fernando Quirarte taking over for the remainder of the season, bringing stability to the team and results improved. They won the Chiapas Cup in 2004 and on 16 July 2005, they won the Chiapas Cup for a second time, by defeating Club Necaxa at the Victor Manuel Reyna Stadium. In February 2008 Sergio Almaguer was named manager of Chiapas.

In the Clausara 2006, under new coach Eduardo de la Torre, the club finished with the second best record over the regular season, and with it a place in the Play-Offs, where they lost in the Quarter-final to Club Deportivo Guadalajara.

For recent transfers, see List of Mexican Football Transfers Winter 2011-12.

Notable players

- Javier Cámpora
- Nery Cardozo
- Lucio Filomeno
- Walter Jiménez
- Damián Manso
- Andre Luiz
- Danilo Veron Bairros
- Sebastiao Pereira do Nascimento
- Everaldo Barbosa
- Itamar Batista Da Silva
- Lenílson Batista de Souza

- José Damasceno
- Cristián Andrés Álvarez Valenzuela
- Ismael Fuentes
- Fernando Martel
- Manuel Neira
- Luis Gabriel Rey
- Jackson Martinez
- Franco Arizala
- Oscar Emilio Rojas
- Antonio Pedroza
- Guillermo Ramírez

- Adolfo Bautista
- Edgar Adolfo Hernandez
- Luis Hernández (footballer)
- Rafael Márquez Lugo
- Ulises Mendívil
- Sergio Almaguer
- Gilberto Mora
- Carlos Ochoa
- Omar Ortíz

- Oribe Peralta
- Óscar Pérez
- Antonio Salazar (footballer)
- Alejandro Vela
- Salvador Cabañas
- Pedro Sarabia
- Jorge Marcelo Rodríguez


- Chiapas Cup: (3)
- Copa Mesoamericana 2011: (1)

Top goalscorers

© The Global Football Database ( 2004-2011. All rights reserved. Arco Iris Media Aps. Akvarie Forum